CORONAVIRUS, Health, Oregon

COVID-19 risk status lowered in six counties

Face masks. Photo: Chas Hundley

Governor Kate Brown on Tuesday, December 29 announced updates to the risk levels in all Oregon counties under the state's public health framework that aims to reduce virus transmission and protect Oregonians from COVID-19.

Four different risk levels are used for counties based on the spread of COVID-19 — extreme, high, moderate, and lower risk — and effective Jan. 1, five counties — Clatsop, Coos, Douglas, Lincoln, and Morrow — will be moved from the “Extreme Risk” category down to “High Risk.” 

Washington County and 23 other counties remain in the “Extreme Risk” category. Lake County was removed from the “Moderate Risk” category and joins six other counties in the state’s “Lower Risk” category. 

“After weeks of diligent work by local leaders and public health officials to implement health and safety measures . . .

We rely on subscribers to keep the lights on in our independent newsroom. Join us with a digital subscription today.

Click here to subscribe.

You have reached content available exclusively to Banks Post digital subscribers.

Receive a 3-day free trial of unlimited digital access.

Already a subscriber? Login here.


The Miller Team
John L Scott Market Center